Young Lighting Sientists Contest 2023

Молодые светотехники 2022.jpg

русский | english

About the Contest

The “Young Lighting Scientists” Contest is an annual event held as part of the International specialized exhibition Interlight Russia|Intelligent building Russia and the All-Russian Scientific and Technical Conference "Innovative lighting technology in Russia". The language of the Contest is Russian/English. Participation in the Contest is free of charge.

Terms of participation

The Contest is open to Russian and foreign students of higher educational institutions, graduate students, applicants, young scientists, and specialists engaged in research in the field of light and lighting who are not older than 35 years. Detailed conditions for participation in the contest are available in the Contest Regulations

Acceptance of applications for participation

Acceptance of applications for participation begins on April 15, 2023, and ends on July 31, 2023 (inclusive). The organizers reserve the right to extend the deadline for submission of papers.


The key dates for organizing the contest

  • April 15 - first announcement of the Conference
  • 15 April - 31 July - collection of abstracts

  • 1-15 August - papers reviewing by the program committee and selection of papers for the contest of “Young Lighting Scientists”

  • 15-30 August - presentation of the final papers to the organizing committee of the conference

  • September 21 - final and awarding ceremony 

The proceedings of the Conference

The peer-reviewed papers are accepted for participation in the Contest will be published in the proceedings of the Conference.

The proceeding of 2022 is available in Russian language by the following link.

Place and date of the final

The final round takes place during the Interlight Russia | Intelligent building Russia exhibition on 21 September, 2023 in Moscow. If a finalist is unable to attend the event in person, they may present their work in video format. 

The Contest jury

The Contest jury is formed from invited representatives of university professors and lecturers, employees of research institutions and lighting companies in Russia and abroad.

Anna Shakhparunyants – Ph.D., President of the Russian National Committee of CIE, General Director of the Russian Lighting Scientific Research Institute named after S.I. Vavilov (Russia)

Hao Luoxi – Ph.D., Professor, CIE Elected Vice-President Education, Vice President of China Illuminating Engineering Society, Professor of Tongji University (China)

Vladimir Budak  Ph.D., Professor, Head of Devision 8 of CIE NC RU, Editor-in-chief of Lighting Engineering/Light & Engineering journals (Russia)

Motoharu Takao – Ph.D., Professor, Chair of Lux Pacifica, Department of Human and Information Science, Tokai University (Japan)

Arzu Cilasun Kunduraci – Ph.D., Assist.Prof.(PhD), Faculty of Architecture Department of Architecture of Yaşar University (Türkiye)

Kamal Sethia – PhD., Indian Society of lighting engineers, Cosmos Engineering Industries Pvt Ltd. (India)

Acharawan Chutarat – Ph.D., Lecturer at School of Architecture + Design, King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi (Thailand)

Andrey Grigoriev – Ph.D., Professor of Light Engineering Department, National Research University "MPEI” (Russia)

Mikhail Belov - Ph.D., Professor of the Department of Laser and Optoelectronic Systems, Bauman Moscow State Technical University (Russia)

Olga Zheleznikova – Ph.D., Head of the Department of Lighting Engineering, Director of the Institute of Electronics and Lighting Engineering of N.P. Ogarev MSU

Elena Polisadova – Ph.D., Professor, Department of Materials Science, Engineering School of New Production Technologies, Head of Optotechnics Department, National Research Tomsk Polytechnic University (TPU)

Vladimir Karpenko – Ph.D., Associate Professor of the Department of Architecture and Design of the Far Eastern Federal University (FEFU)

Vitaly Stepanov – Ph.D., Leads the "Fundamentals of Lighting Engineering" module in the "Lighting Design" course at MARCH Architecture School

Sermin Onaygil – Dr. of science, President of Turkish National Committee of Lighting (ATMK), Professor in Istanbul Technical University, Energy Institute

The information is being updated. The Program Committee and the jury of the contest are currently forming.


The Contest is organized by the Russian National Committee of the International Commission on Illumination (CIE NC RU).
The Contest is supported by LLC "Gefera Media", Lighting Engineering Department of the National Research University "MPEI", Exhibition Interlight Russia | Intelligent building Russia, Russian Lighting Research Institute named after S.I. Vavilov, the Editorial of Scientific and Technical journal "Lighting engineering" and corporate members of CIE NC RU with the status "Platinum".


For sponsorship - Pavel Fedorishchev

Program Committee Coordinator - Anastasia Zinicheva

Program Committee Foreign Section Coordinator - Julia Glorio